Toggle menu

Confirmation of Voter Registration 2024

All properties will shortly be receiving a form or email to ask the occupant to confirm who is resident at the property for voting purposes. Please check the details when you receive this and respond online if appropriate.

Past Mayors from 1400 - 1499

Preston lamb logo

The tradition of having a Mayor of Preston dates back to the Middle Ages when the city's first Charter (a document bestowing certain rights on a town) was granted by Henry II in 1179.

Preston's first recorded Mayor was called Aubrey, son of Robert, who took up his position in 1327. Although there is little other information about him, it is thought that he was a wealthy businessman of his time and was chosen to be Mayor by a select few wealthy associates, the majority of local people had no say in the matter.

Nowadays, the Mayor has to be a Preston city councillor, meaning that local people have voted for them to represent their communities.

Mayors from 1400 - 1499

Below is a table of past Mayors ranging from 1400 - 1499. You will find the most up to date list of Mayors on the background to the Mayor of Preston page.

The following years have no record of a Mayor in place:

  • 1491 to 1493
  • 1450
  • 1437

* Denotes Guild Mayor

William Marshall1499
W. Preston1498
H. Pool1497
James Walton1496
William Marshall1494 - 1495
Henry Preston1487 - 1490
Richard Banestre (Banastre)1485 - 1486
Thomas Pack (Park)1484
James Marshall1482 - 1483
John Clayton1481
James Marshall1479 - 1480
Richard Banestre (Banastre)1475 - 1478
James Marshall1471 - 1474
Richard Banestre (Banastre)1470
Nicholas Preston1468 - 1469
James Marshall1461 - 1467
Robert (de) Hoghton1460
Robert (de) Hoghton* 1459
Robert (de) Hoghton1458
Robert del Wich1457
Robert Hoghton1451 - 1456
Henry Banester (Banaster)1447 - 1449
Roger del Wich1444 - 1446
Robert Hoghton1438 - 1443
Hugh Banestre (Banastre)1435 - 1436
Hugh de Langton1431 - 1434
John Beeton (Breton)1429 - 1430
Geoffrey de Meles1428
John Blundell1426 - 1427
William Ergham1425
John Blundell1424
John Beeton (Breton)1423
Henry Johnson1420 - 1422
William Ergham1416 - 1419
Henry Johnson* 1415
Henry Johnson1414
William Ergham1413
H. de Hoghton1411 - 1412
William Ergham1408 - 1410
John Blundell1406 - 1407
Geoffrey Meles1403 - 1405
William Ergham1402
Thomas (del) Moore1401
John Marshall1400

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email