Toggle menu

Confirmation of Voter Registration 2024

All properties will shortly be receiving a form or email to ask the occupant to confirm who is resident at the property for voting purposes. Please check the details when you receive this and respond online if appropriate.

Past Mayors from 1500 - 1599

Preston lamb logo

The tradition of having a Mayor of Preston dates back to the Middle Ages when the city's first Charter (a document bestowing certain rights on a town) was granted by Henry II in 1179.

Preston's first recorded Mayor was called Aubrey, son of Robert, who took up his position in 1327. Although there is little other information about him, it is thought that he was a wealthy businessman of his time and was chosen to be Mayor by a select few wealthy associates, the majority of local people had no say in the matter.

Nowadays, the Mayor has to be a Preston city councillor, meaning that local people have voted for them to represent their communities.

Mayors from 1500 - 1599

Below is a table of past Mayors ranging from 1500 - 1599. You will find the most up to date list of Mayors on the background to the Mayor of Preston page.

The following years have no record of a Mayor in place:

  • 1588 - 1591
  • 1584 - 1586
  • 1573 - 1579
  • 1535 - 1540
  • 1509 - 1523
  • 1501 - 1506

* Denotes Guild Mayor

Henry Hodgkinson1599
Henry Preston1598
Henry Catterall1597
Edmund Lemon1596
Henry Catterall1595
Anthony Wall1594
Richard Taylor1593
Richard Taylor William Banester1592
Lawrence Wall1587
William Hodgkinson1583
Henry Preston1582
George Walton* 1581 - 1582
Henry Preston1580
William Banestre1571 - 1572
Ewan Wall1570
William Hodgkinson1569
William Banastre1568
Ewan Wall1566 - 1567
Thomas Wall1563 - 1565 
Thomas Wall* 1562
Thomas Wall1561
William Hodgkinson1560
Oliver Breres1558 - 1559
Lawrence Banastre1554 - 1557
Lawrence Banestre (Banastre)1552 - 1553
James Walton1545 - 1551
Thomas Tipping (Typping)1543 - 1544
Thomas Tipping (Typping)* 1542
Thomas Tipping (Typping)1541
William Arran1541
Thomas Typping1534
James Walton1532 - 1533
Christopher Haydock1528 - 1531
Richard Banastre1527
James Walton1526
William Wall1525
John Hoghton1524
Robert Coventry1507 - 1508
William Marshall* 1500

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email