Toggle menu

Bank Holiday service information

Information on opening times of services across the Bank Holiday weekend.

Elections 2023

Hand posting a polling card into a vote box

Preston City Council Local Elections took place on Thursday 4 May 2023. 

The results for the Preston City Council Local Elections are shown on Election Results - 4 May 2023.

We have provided Voter ID Analysis data which shows the number of people who brought ID to the polling station for Preston City Council Local and Parish Elections on 4 May 2023. 

Electoral Commission Guidance Documents

Surgeries for Candidates and Agents

As part of our commitment to delivering more proactive support for candidates and parties, the Electoral Commission are hosting virtual advice surgeries before and after the elections to ensure those taking part have the advice and guidance they need.

The Electoral Commission are offering 15-minute appointments with an expert advisor at the Commission to discuss specific issues relating to the spending and donation laws, and to answer any queries candidates and agents might have. The appointments after the election will provide practical support with spending returns. Virtual appointments will be available using Microsoft Teams throughout the following days, on a first come, first served basis.

  • Tuesday 18 April
  • Tuesday 23 May
  • Tuesday 25 April
  • Wednesday 24 May
  • Wednesday 26 April
  • Friday 25 May

To request an appointment, candidates and agents should complete the Advice Surgeries form and can contact Stuart Butler on sbutler@electoralcommission.org.uk if they have any further questions.

Election Timetable

The information below shows the timetable of proceedings for Thursday 4 May 2023

  • Publication of Notice of Election - Friday 24 March 2023
  • Delivery of nominations - from Monday 27 March to 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2023
  • Withdrawal of candidate - 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2023
  • Appointment of Election Agents - 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2023
  • Publication of Notice of Election Agents - 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2023
  • Publication of Statement of Persons Nominated - 4pm on Wednesday 5 April 2023
  • Last date for registration - Monday 17 April 2023
  • Receipt of postal vote applications - 5pm on Tuesday 18 April 2023
  • Publication of Notice of Poll - Tuesday 25 April 2022
  • Deadline for receipt of Voter Identification Certificate - 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2023
  • Receipt of proxy vote applications - 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2023
  • Appointment of Poll and Count Agents - Wednesday 26 April 2023
  • First day to issue replacement lost postal ballot papers - Thursday 27 April 2023
  • Last day to issue replacement spoilt or lost postal ballot papers - 5pm Thursday 4 May 2023
  • Receipt of emergency proxy vote applications - 5pm on Thursday 4 May 2023
  • Day of Poll - 7am to 10pm on Thursday 4 May 2023
  • Count - 9.30am on Friday 5 May 2023 in the Guild Hall, Lancaster Road, Preston
  • Return of election expenses - Thursday 1 June (Parish), Friday 9 June 2023 (City)

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email